2021 Excellence in Public Service honorees announced


WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – The 2021 Excellence in Public Service Award winners have been honored in separate surprise announcements at their respective jobs

There will be two honorees from the City of Wichita, Sedgwick County, and Wichita Public Schools.


  • Wichita Fire Battalion Chief Stacey Wespi for his efforts during the pandemic
  • Kristina Rose for working to put together care packages for veterans every Christimas. Rose is the assistant controller for Wichita.


  • Sedgwick County Sheriff’s Deputy Narciso Narvais is a training coordinator for making a difference in others’ lives
  • Sedgwick County Zoo employee Judy Dotson for her 11 years of dedication to the zoo and going the extra mile to bring community and coworkers together


  • Wichita East High Schools athletic and activities director Frederick Crayton for community service at Gordon Parks Academy
  • Northeast Wichita Magnet School teacher Cheryl Witt for countless hours on working on school programs

The surprise announcements mark the 33rd year of the Excellence in Public Service Award. The award, sponsored by the DeVore Foundation, recognizes public service employees who demonstrate a strong work ethic, high performance and a commitment to the community. Selected from thousands of eligible workers from the city, county and Wichita School District, each honoree will receive a $2,500 check at a reception later this fall. Other sponsors include KSN.

Other announcements are scheduled for Thursday and Friday.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories