WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) — For Claude Smith III, the military is not only a way of life. It’s a way of life for his family tree.

Many of his extended family members served before him, and several of his children and grandchildren continue to serve today. It’s a tradition Smith says he’s honored to be a part of, adding he’s grateful the national dialogue surrounding veterans has changed drastically since his time in the service.

“I want to say the United States Army was good to me,” Smith said.

After joining the U.S. Army in 1972, Smith would deploy overseas as part of the Cold War effort as a duty driver at Second General Hospital in Landstuhl, Germany, assisting with the transport of medical supplies.

“It was something exciting because I wasn’t used to stopping. As I was a duty officer, I always traveled down what they called the Autobahn,” Smith said.

Claude Smith III’s Veteran Salute (KSN Photo)

But just days after arriving in Germany, Smith and his team at the hospital would assist in the aftermath of one of the most infamous tragedies in sports history.

“It was something I don’t like talking about because two days after I was there in Germany, we had (what you call in Germany) the Munich Massacre,” Smith said.

The Munich Massacre was an attack on the 1972 Summer Olympics in Munich, Germany, by the Palestinian terrorist group “Black Saturday.” During the initial attack, the terrorists shot and killed two members of the Israeli Olympic team. They then took nine more Israeli coaches and athletes hostage. While West Germany police eventually ambushed and killed five of the eight terrorists involved, a rescue attempt failed. All nine Israeli hostages were killed.

“My team and us were sent there to do what we could to help the people there,” Smith said.

Smith would remain in Germany for over a year.

“We carried blood, we carried all kind of things and send it to SE Asia and other places around that needed, needed our services,” Smith said.