Veteran Salute: Hospital administrator says tour was different than most

Veteran Salute

WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – A Vietnam veteran said he signed up for the ROTC Program while at college at Kansas State University. “It was pretty obvious the draft was going on at that time,” Vietnam veteran Jess Frieze said. Frieze landed in the Air Force.

“You don’t carry a gun in the Air Force,” Frieze said. Frieze said one time he was given a handgun while traveling from base to base. “Because I was an officer, they issued me a .38,” Frieze said. “Now what was I going to do with a .38 pistol, against somebody who had an AK-47? Throw it at them?”

He said thankfully he never had to fire a gun.

Frieze had already spent three years as an Air Force hospital administrator before he was sent to Vietnam. He said he’ll never forget the sound of helicopters.

“I’d go to sleep at night, and hear the howitzers or the cannons going off, that would go boom, boom, boom, and the helicopters flying over,” Frieze said.

His tour was different than most.

“I decided I would rather go in as an officer, as opposed to somebody carrying a gun and walking through the jungle,” Frieze said.

He went to Vietnam in 1971 as things were winding down. “There was no doubt about the fact we were going to be leaving soon,” Frieze said.

Frieze was second in command to a full bird colonel, and said their team stayed busy.

“Inventory medical supplies, and medical equipment, in preparation to turn it over to the Vietnamese Medical Corp,” Frieze said. He said it was cheaper to do that, rather than ship it back to the United States.

Vinh (Courtesy: Jess Frieze)

Frieze thought very highly of Vinh, the Vietnamese officer, he advised. He said they enjoyed many meals together at Vinh’s home.

“Getting to know intimately a person from a different country, culture and nationality, really emphasized the fact that we are all alike,” Frieze said.