Veteran Salute: Vietnam forever changes a man

Veteran Salute

WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – A Wichita veteran signed up for the National Guard because he knew the draft notice was coming.

Ron Bales is a self-taught artist and bought his first pinstriping brush in 1964.

He said then life happened, and for him, that came in the form of a tour of duty.

“Nobody comes back like they went,” Vietnam Veteran Ron Bales said.

Bales was a ground pounder.

“There’s those boots, and there’s that cross,” Bales said.

He said the the cross necklace was around his neck every time he took a chopper ride to the bush.

“I got to sit in the door with my feet out on the skid, with someone hanging on the back of me, so I didn’t fall out,” Bales said.

He was an infantryman with the 101st.

“You walk,” Bales said.

He said they were packing quite the loads, too.

“Carrying a first aid kid, a bayonet, two smoke grenades,” Bales said.

Their rucksacks weighed 150 pounds, and he was also carrying 19 canteens of water.

“We were humping in the jungle, and they called a break, and that is flop time,” Bales said.

He said breaks didn’t happen very often, and that was unfortunate for his comrades, like one soldier nicknamed, ‘Tiny’, who one time stepped in a large hole and couldn’t get out.

“Two of us come along and grabbed the back of his rucksack straps and picked him up, got him back on his feet, and away we went,” Bales said.

He said along the way they would often find the enemies food supply.

“One platoon watched and the other pulled the garden up and smashed the fence,” Bales said.

He said during that process, they would often come across pigs, so one time they decided to roast one, and then fire erupted.

“They took bush and the guy that got shot, that’s it lifting off and then it came up over me,” Bales said.

He said the soldiers had to be on the lookout, constantly.

“There’s a tower by the beach,” Bales said.

They were positioned just off the China Sea.