KDOT selects 40 statewide highway projects for new transportation program

Capitol Bureau

TOPEKA, Kan. (KSNW) – The Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) announced on Thursday the 40 modernization and expansion highway projects selected as a portion of The Eisenhower Legacy Program.

The program was passed by the Legislature and signed into effect by Governor Laura Kelly in late March.

Moving forward with the selected programs is hoped to improve the state’s struggling economy, as well as create jobs for Kansans, according to KDOT Secretary Julie Lorenz and Governor Laura Kelly.

“These 40 projects, small and large, will provide us the flexibility to capture the federal stimulus funds should they become available, and to adjust to fluctuating revenues,” Kelly said.

The 40 projects will cost the state approximately $1.7 billion, which will come from federal funding, motor fuel tax as well as sales tax, according to Lorenz.

“We want to be as well positioned as we can be to take advantage of any opportunities available at the federal level, and we will be,” Lorenz said.

Counties that were selected for their highway projects include: Johnson, Douglas, Leavenworth, Shawnee, Harvey/Marion, Miami, Neosho, Greenwood, Cherokee, Sedgwick, Edwards, Barton, Kiowa, Harvey, Gray, Finney, Ford, Meade, Douglas, Wabaunsee, Geary, Saline, Morris, Osborne, Thomas, Sheridan, Crawford, Bourbon, Sumner, and Hodgeman.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories