WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) — The Sedgwick County Health Department has received a shipment of the reformulated Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine booster.

The booster was reformulated to provide protection against the original strain, plus the variants, including the Omicron subvariants, BA.4 and BA.5. Omicron and the subvariants account for almost all new infections in Kansas.

The boosters are for anyone 12 years or older who has already been fully vaccinated, including the original booster. They will be available at medical providers’ offices and through vaccine clinics offered by the health department.

To be eligible for the new Pfizer booster, individuals:

  • Must be 12 years or older.
  • Must have completed at least a 2-shot primary series of COVID-19 vaccinations using any approved vaccine, including Novavax.
  • Must have received their last COVID-19 shot at least two months ago. The last shot could be a primary series or booster.
  • Must wait three months after recovery from COVID-19 infection.