TOPEKA, Kan. (KSNW) – Gov. Laura Kelly says Kansas will limit mass gatherings to 10 people. It will replace executive order 20-04 which was issued last week which limited mass gatherings to 50 people.

The order also includes a new framework for local communities to determine when countywide stay at home orders are appropriate.

Stay at home orders have been issued in Johnson, Wyandotte, Leavenworth, Douglas, Atchison, Doniphan, Miami and Lyon counties.

“All counties will be required to follow this framework if and when they decide to issue a stay-at-home order,” said Gov. Laura Kelly.

Right now, 89 of 105 counties do not have a confirmed coronavirus case.

“Confirmed cases are expected to tick up at a rapid pace. Statewide stay at home order may become unavoidable,” said Gov. Kelly.

The Kansas Department of Health said as of Monday morning there are 82 total positive cases in the state. It is a number Kansas Department of Health Environment Secretary Dr. Lee Norman says will continue to rise.

“The encouraging news for the state of Kansas is that we are not seeing the doubling cases like have been seen in other states. The other states are mostly at every three to four days doubling the cases,” said Dr. Lee Norman. “The projections, we might be looking at 300 to 400 cases by the end of this month, a week from 10 days from now. That is fairly sharp uptick that is from an epidemiological perspective is what we suggest.”

As for test kits, Dr. Norman said the state received a shipment of 500 over the weekend. On Saturday, the state had about 75 kits.

As for testing, Dr. Norman said health care workers and first responders with symptoms will get priorities. Other priorities include potential clusters of respiratory illnesses in long-term care facilities and other health care facilities, hospitalized patients with no alternative diagnosis, and people over 60 with symptoms, and those with underlying health conditions.

2020 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) in Kansas Test Results
Bourbon County 1
Butler County 3
Cherokee County 1
Douglas County 8
Franklin County 1
Jackson County 1
Johnson County 32
Leavenworth County 5
Linn County 2
Lyon County 2
Mitchell County 2
Morris County 2
Pottawatomie County 1
Reno County 2
Sedgwick County 2
Wyandotte County 16
* Ford and Miami Counties reported positive cases in out-of-state residents. Numbers included in cases home states.
*The Pottawatomie case was labeled as Riley County’s yesterday. The person was determined to be a resident of Pottawatomie County and the chart is now reflective of that change.