2 top Kansas Highway Patrol leaders resign

Kansas Highway Patrol_412586

Two top leaders of the Kansas Highway Patrol are leaving the agency.

Gov. Laura Kelly announced Thursday in a news release that Col. Mark Bruce, the patrol’s superintendent, and Lt. Col. Randy Moon, an assistant superintendent, have resigned.

Kelly said Shawnee County Sheriff Herman Jones will take over the agency on Wednesday. Maj. Jason De Vore will be acting superintendent until Wednesday.

The Topeka Capital-Journal reports the governor’s spokeswoman, Ashley All, said she couldn’t comment on the departures because they were personnel matters.

Kelly said in December that she would retain Bruce because he was an effective leader and a strong advocate for law enforcement officers.

Jones led the Shawnee County Sheriff’s Department since 2012 and was a highway patrol employee for more than 20 years.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories