Freeport votes to dissolve; Frederick votes to remain


FREDERICK, Kan. (KSNW) – One of Kansas’ tiniest towns has failed again to vote itself out of existence

Rice County’s Frederick and Harper County’s Freeport were on the ballot Tuesday. Only a handful of people live in the towns.

In Frederick, the dissolution vote ended with a 2-2 tie. A measure to dissolve Frederick also was on the ballot last year but the vote couldn’t be counted because another community mistakenly cast ballots on the issue.

In Freeport, there were four votes at the polls to dissolve the town. Dissolving a town requires a two-thirds vote.

Get breaking news, weather and traffic on the go. Download our News App and our Weather App for your phone and tablet. Follow and like us on Facebook and Twitter.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories