Leaders, Johnson County key for Kansas redistricting panels


TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Kansas’ most populous county has the most seats on legislative committees that will draft redistricting proposals next year.

Three legislative leaders will serve on the Senate’s panel. Three of nine members of the Republican-controlled Senate Redistricting Committee are from Johnson County and so are four of 17 House committee members.

Johnson County is not only the state’s most populous county but also a county likely to gain political clout because of population shifts.

Lawmakers redraw congressional, legislative and State Board of Education districts once every decade.

The Senate committee’s chair is Vice President Rick Wilborn. Its vice-chair is President Ty Masterson, and Minority Leader Dinah Sykes is a member.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories