President Trump approves disaster declaration for Kansas ice storm


WASHINGTON (KSNW) – President Donald Trump on Friday approved a disaster declaration for the Kansas ice storm last month.

The declaration will free up federal assistance to supplement the state and local efforts in areas affected by the ice storm.

Federal funding is available to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and repair or replacement of facilities. Those areas eligible include Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ellsworth, Ford, Hodgeman, Jewell, Kiowa, Meade, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rush, Seward, Sheridan, Stafford, and Trego counties.

Gov. Sam Brownback submitted the request through the Federal Emergency Management Agency on Feb. 13.

Get breaking news, weather and traffic on the go. Download our News App and our Weather App for your phone and tablet. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories