President Trump approves Kansas Disaster Declaration after September storms


President Donald Trump declared on Friday that a major disaster exists in Kansas after storms, straight-line winds and flooding in September.

According to a statement from the White House, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding.

The declaration affects eight Kansas counties:

  • Barber
  • Clay
  • Kingman
  • Kiowa
  • Marshall
  • Pratt
  • Rice
  • Riley

Brock Long, Administrator, FEMA has named Paul Taylor as the Federal Coordinating Officer for operations in the affected areas.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories