Sedgwick County Commission shows 10 redistricting options at public meeting


WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – The Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners hosted a redistricting town hall on Monday evening at the National Center for Aviation Training Lecture Hall located at 4004 N. Webb Road.

The public was invited to attend to learn about the redistricting process. The boundaries of the county are changed every 10 years when the census information is released. As a result, the county is divided into five districts.

The goal is to even out the population centers. There were 10 options on display. The biggest change is in Sedgwick County District 4. Commissioner Lacey Cruse represents that district, and it picked up 6,000 more residents.

“More people have to speak up. They have to look at the maps. They have to email their commissioner and let their voices heard,” said Lawanda Deshazer, meeting attendee.

The proposed maps are also available now on the Sedgwick County website.

This meeting was broadcast on the Sedgwick County YouTube and Facebook pages.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories