Officials warn Facebook users about hoax messages

National / World
Facebook 3

You may have gotten a message in your inbox or have seen posts on your news feed about profile cloning.

The truth is, users are being tricked into thinking that their accounts have been cloned, thanks to that exact viral message that made rounds on the social networking site over the weekend. 

Time Magazine reports that the sender of the message says they received a duplicate friend request from that person’s account, suggesting they could be a victim of a cloning scam where a fake account is created using someone else’s information and images. 

The message suggests forwarding to other friends to warn them. 

Users took to social media by storm saying they got the viral hoax message. 

So what should you do if you receive this message?

Time Magazine reported that officials are urging to delete the message and not forward it at all, but if you’re still concerned about cloning, you can search for duplicates of your account on Facebook. 

If you do believe your account has been cloned, you can report the issue directly to Facebook. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories