WICHITA, Kan. (KSN) – There’s a new push to change the blood alcohol level that determines whether or not you’re driving drunk.

Currently in Kansas the limit is .08 percent of alcohol in the blood.  Now, the National Transportation Safety Board is recommending that level be dropped to .05 percent.

Everyone KSN talked with agreed drunk driving should never be tolerated.  But the question of how high – or low – should that level be has some asking questions.

Jess Hoeme is a criminal attorney with

He believes a potential change could increase the work load for local law enforcement officers.

“Law enforcement is going to make a lot of arrests, and they’re going to bring a lot of people into the jail and find out they’re a .053, you know something that is a nominal amount of alcohol in their system,” Hoeme says.

KSN reached out to the DUI Impact Center which advocates for those who have lost loved ones in DUI crashes.  They say there are far too many DUI-related incidents.

“Sedgwick County leads the state in injury and fatalities, and in 2014 there were 50 fatalities just in Sedgwick County, which is about half of all the fatalities that happens in Kansas overall,” says DUI Impact Center Executive Director Andrie Krahl.

Krahl says her organization remains foucsed on supporting victims and their families, and such a significant law change should be one that lawmakers and the citizens should weigh in on.

“I think it would be interesting to understand the recommendation and review it and to poll our community to see what their views are on it,” Krahl says.

One thing that should be kept in mind is that there’s no easy guidance to determine if you’re over the limit legally.  The number of drinks needed to reach that level varies from person to person.

The best solution is to always drive sober or have a designated driver.