Oklahoma junior guard Buddy Hield and Bill Self of Kansas are The Associated Press’ Big 12 player and coach of the year.

Hield, the Big 12’s top scorer at 17.4 points a game, was the only unanimous pick on the AP All-Big 12 first team. The yearly awards were announced Monday.

Self is the first four-time AP Big 12 Coach of the Year winner, edging West Virginia coach Bob Huggins for this year’s award.

West Virginia senior guard Juwan Staten is the only player who is an AP first-team pick for the second straight year.

Joining Hield and Staten on the first team are Baylor post player Rico Gathers, who averages 11.6 points and 11.7 rebounds, Kansas junior Perry Ellis and Iowa State junior Georges Niang.The list of winners of The Associated Press Big 12 men’s basketball Coach of the Year award:

1997 – Roy Williams, Kansas.

1998 – Eddie Sutton, Oklahoma St.

1999 – Rick Barnes, Texas.

2000 – Larry Eustachy, Iowa St.

2001 – Larry Eustachy, Iowa St.

2002 – Roy Williams, Kansas.

2003 – Roy Williams, Kansas.

2004 – Eddie Sutton, Oklahoma St.

2005 – Billy Gillispie, Texas A&M.

2006 – Bill Self, Kansas.

2007 – Rick Barnes, Texas.

2008 – Rick Barnes, Texas.

2009 – Bill Self, Kansas.

2010 – Frank Martin, Kansas St.

2011 – Bill Self, Kansas.

2012 – Frank Haith, Missouri.

2013 – Bruce Weber, Kansas St.

2014 – Lon Kruger, Oklahoma.

2015 – Bill Self, Kansas.