Frank Mason wins Naismith Award


SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (KSNW) – Kansas basketball senior Frank Mason III has been named winner of the 2017 Citizen James A. Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced Sunday in Arizona. The prestigious trophy is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding men’s college basketball player, marking Mason’s eighth National Player of the Year honor this season.

The 5-foot-11 guard was honored earlier today at the Naismith Awards Brunch delivered by UPS. He joins Danny Manning (1988) as the only two Naismith Trophy recipients from the University of Kansas, and becomes the sixth Big 12 recipient, following Buddy Hield (OU, 2016), Blake Griffin (OU, 2009) Kevin Durant (UT, 2007) and T.J. Ford (UT, 2003).

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

NBA Stats

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories