Shockers Earn No. 4 Seed in American Championship

Local Sports
softball-1354947_1280_1537299380281.jpg

Wichita State will be the No. 4 seed in the 2019 American Athletic Conference Softball Championship and open play Thursday, May 9 against No. 5 UCF at 12:30 p.m. CST.

The Shockers finished the regular season 31-24 overall and 12-9 in their second season of American Athletic Conference play. The three-day, single-elimination tournament will be held May 9-11 at Cougar Softball Stadium in Houston, Texas.

Wichita State won the season series against UCF, taking two of three from the Knights in Orlando. Wichita State won the final two games 6-3 and 2-1 after dropping the series opener, 3-2.

All quarterfinal and semifinal contests of the American Softball Championship will be broadcast live on the American Digital Network on Facebook (facebook.com/americandigitalnetworkplus), with the championship airing at 12 p.m. ET on ESPN2 on Saturday, May 11. For all live updates and ticket information, visit TheAmerican.org/Softball and follow @American_SBall on Twitter. All rounds are single-elimination, with the tournament champion earning The American’s automatic bid to the 2019 NCAA Division I Softball Championship.

2019 American Athletic Conference Softball Championship
Cougar Softball Stadium | Houston, Texas
 
Quarterfinals – Thursday, May 9
American Digital Network
Game 1: No. 1 USF vs. No. 8 Memphis – 11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT
Game 2: No. 4 Wichita State vs. No. 5 UCF – 1:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. CT
Game 3: No. 2 Tulsa vs. No. 7 ECU – 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT
Game 4: No. 3 Houston vs. No. 6 UConn – 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT
 
Semifinals – Friday, May 10
American Digital Network
Game 5: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2 – 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT
Game 6: Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4 – 4:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. CT
 
Championship – Saturday, May 11
ESPN2
Game 7: Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6 – 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the KSN News App and stay up-to-date wherever you are. You can even watch KSN News live for free!
Click here to get the app
Get it in the App store
Get it in the Google Play store

3 Day Forecast

KSN Storm Track 3 Weather

Trending Stories